Breaking The Silence

It was August 18, 2009. We were having dinner at Shun Lee before we dropped Jon off at the airport for his flight to London. It was a happy and sad dinner because we knew there would be many good things to come out of this but sad at the same time because Jon and I would be living in different countries! The check came along with fortune cookies so we each took ours and read the fortunes out loud. This was mine.

I believe this was “the sign and push” that got me through these past 11 months. It hasn’t been that difficult. I’ve also seen Jon every month, whether I go to London or he comes home. Who wouldn’t want to visit London every other month?!

When we first broke the news that Jon was moving to London we got mixed reactions.  Most were supportive but there will always be those negative nellys out there. Lots of “long-distance always works”, “good luck with that”, and my personal favorite “I give it 10 days…if that.” All of these said with a ton of sarcasm and lots of rolled eyes. We stayed strong and can finally say:

WE MADE IT!!! WE DID IT!!!!

I gave my notice to work today.  My last day of work will be August 20th!  That leaves me with 5 weeks to enjoy in NYC before I take a hop, skip and a jump over the pond.

9 Responses

  1. Congratulations!!!!! So excited for you and can’t wait to hear about your life in London!

  2. CONGRATS!!!!! You should be really proud you’ve made it this far – it’s not easy and you did it!!

  3. So excited for you Ash! This will be an amazing experience! We will miss you in New York!

  4. I am so excited for you and for this journey. Mostly I am excited to add your blog to my blogroll so I have another great one to read each day – especially when the staring figure is someone I know.

    Enjoy and keep updating us!

  5. woohoo!! sooo excited for you!

  6. Hi Ashley,
    Sorry I didn’t respond back about the A to Z app that I mentioned in my blog. Its an app that I got on my iPhone but you can probably get it on a number of phones.

    ps~ thanks for reading my blog!

  7. Hi there! Thanks for taking part in Mummy’s Little Monkey’s Blow Your Own Blog-Horn. We’ll look forward to seeing you over our side of the pond very soon! Where will you be living??? x

Leave a Reply

