Jumping The Gun

I recently ran the CPC Run for Central Park 4 mile race on July 17th and loved every second of it.  It was a hot day and I wish it started earlier than 9am but even with those factors I did much better than I thought.  I secretly gave myself a goal of 43:00 minutes and was so surprised when I looked at my Garmin as I was approaching the finish line to see that I was under 40:00 minutes!

Here are my stats:

Mile 1 – 9:03

Mile 2 – 8:45

Mile 3 – 10:32 <—-necessary walking break in 95 degree heat

Mile 4 – 9:48

453 ft – 44 seconds

Total Garmin Distance: 4.09

Total Garmin Time: 38:53

I don’t have any weekends left to do any races in NY/NJ so I have been looking at London races which gets me REALLY excited.  I have found 3 races that I could participate in. I’m not sure if I’m jumping the gun, should plan that far ahead or even consider these before I move there.

Oct 3, 2010

The Epsom Dash 5k run – http://www.thefixevents.com/content/the-epsom-dash-5km-run/

Oct 24, 2010

After Adoption Hyde Park 5k or 10k – http://www.afteradoption.org.uk/page.asp?section=00010001000600070019

Nov 13, 2010

The Movember 10k Run Greenwich Park – http://www.thefixevents.com/content/movember-10k-run-greenwich-park/

What do you think? Should I sign up now or wait and which ones should I do??

4 Responses

  1. I say you wait until I decide when im coming to visit! 🙂

  2. i have a bloggy friend here in london who runs – she just did a 5k – and i’ll put you guys in touch when you get here!

  3. I did a 5K in Battersea Park and really enjoyed it. (Partly b/c I live about 5 minutes from the park.) I plan on running in their Movember event.

Leave a Reply

