Musings Of A New Londoner

I’ve been taking in all the sites, sounds and smells as I walk and explore London.  It’s been great but I will admit I’m ready for a schedule so when school starts I’ll feel more at home I think.

There is this really cool cycle hire program going on this summer called Barclays Cycle Hire.  The concept is great.  You rent a bike and can ride it around town and then return it to any of the docking stations.  It’s free for 30 minutes, £1 for an hour and so on and so on.  I really want to try it but I can’t even cross the street without getting honked at so imagine me on a bike riding with the traffic.  I think I’d rather walk or take the tube right now.  Maybe in a year…..or never.

Something else I’ve notice and I think is genius are public subways.  They make it so much easier to cross the street.  You don’t have to worry about lights turning, people honking, looking the wrong way or anything.  New York….mull it over.

I took this photo about an hour ago and as you can see it’s sunny out so I’m going to take advantage of it and explore some more.  I’m a lady of leisure these days and loving every second of it.

4 Responses

  1. I can’t believe you’re there! I am so happy for you. Agreed–I love the non-hassle of the tube system!
    Glad you’re enjoying it, DKLondonAsh! 😉

  2. You are making me miss London so much! Send Jon my love (if you ever see him 🙂 )

  3. I am SO with you on the cycle hire thing. I want so badly to rent one but I am so scared to at the same time. I would only do it in one of the parks though, not on the street!

Leave a Reply

