It’s Pumpkin Time!!

We raided Whole Foods for Libby’s pumpkin.  Even though they are a little more expensive here than at home (they are imported) we had to buy a couple of cans. The Americans scoop them up so fast so it’s hard to find. Once I had the cans in my hands I started to google for pumpkin recipes.
I decided on a pumpkin muffin recipe (with some changes) from An American Girl In Chelsea.

Pumpkin Muffins Recipe: 

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups white sugar (I used 1 1/2 cups splenda granulated)
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs
1/3 cup water
1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup canned pumpkin puree (Available at Waitrose, Whole Foods, and Partridges).

Preheat oven to 200 C and line muffin tray (didn’t have a muffin tray so I made a cake)

1.  In an electric mixer bowl, beat the sugar, oil, eggs, and water until combined
2.  Sift into this mixture the flour and spices
3.  Mix until moistened
4.  Stir in pumpkin
5.  Spoon batter into muffin tray
6.  Bake at 200 C until wooden toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean (15-17 minutes for large muffins; 10-14 minutes for smaller muffins)

This recipe usually makes about 2 dozen muffins.

My cake came out delicious!  It would be great with cool whip on top but I can’t find that here.  It would be great with a creamcheese icing but I’m too lazy.  I’ve eaten it alone and with ice cream on top.  Both equally satisfying.

One Response

  1. yummmmm!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

